Kalamazoo Gospel Ministries

Shelter | Development | Purpose

What began as a depression-era soup kitchen is now a multi-campus, comprehensive ministry reaching those in our community in need of hope and healing. The Gospel is at the center of our name and at the heart of what we do. We offer shelter, food and a helping hand, but we cannot change a heart. Only God can do that.

Vision Statement

Guided by the Holy Spirit, we will build the infrastructure of programs, services, funding, and capabilities which support eternal transformation in the lives of those who desire lasting life change. Over the next three years, our team will become even more efficient and have even greater impact. We will be known for quality services that builds competence, confidence, and an expanded sense of self-worth while continuing to provide basic shelter services and programming.

Mission Statement

A collaborative community Serving as the hands and feet of Jesus, respecting the value of every human being, empowering those who desire Gospel-Powered life transformation, equipping people with the resources for success, and shepherding them into a life of purpose and compassion.

Pastor Michael L. Brown

President/CEO

For more than 88 years, KGM has served the community of Kalamazoo MI, offering radical hospitality in Jesus’ name to people who are dealing with hunger, homelessness, abuse, and addiction. We have never been more resolved to see individuals and families have their lives and relationships restored. As you peruse our website, you will recognize that we have added many training programs and resources, to the support already available. We want to ensure that every guest has everything they need to achieve the wholeness they desire.

As we have combined with Kalamazoo Deacons Conference, our ability to offer a broader contingent of services to an increasing number of people has only been strengthened.

If you are interested in becoming a part of our volunteer support team, please contact Matt Furrow, our Volunteer Coordinator, at 269.345.2974 ext 203. Also, take note of the many services available in case you or someone you know is in need of assistance.

While we incorporate the core tenets of Christianity in every aspect of our work, we offer support to people of every faith or no faith. Our goal is for individuals and families to have their lives and relationships restored through the transformative power of the Gospel and be reengaged in meaningful ways within society.

Lastly, if you would like to financially support the work of this vital ministry, donate gifts in kind or you have any questions about KGM, please contact at 269.345.2974.

Pastor Michael L. Brown
President/CEO

National Report on Homelessness

October 2020

National report on homelessness

2019-2020 Annual Report

This in-depth report will provide detailed statistics and financial information about Kalamazoo Gospel Ministries in our 2019-2020 fiscal year.

2019-2020 Annual report

Pastor Brown's Speaking Engagements

Grace Christian Reformed Church

January 30th, 2022
9:30am
1724 Whites Rd, Kalamazoo MI, 49008

Schnable Lake Family Campground

June 19th, 2022
10:00am
1476 115th Ave, Otsego, MI 49078

Kalamazoo Community Church

May 1st, 2022
10:00am
2435 N. 26th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49048

Are you interested in having Pastor Brown speak at your church?

Please contact Gabrielle Dawson, at 269.345.2974 ext. 201 for more information

Listen to Our Radio Program

Sunday Mornings at 10:30am and & 12:00pm

106.9FM WKZO at 10:30am

95.5FM The Touch at 12:00pm

Senior Leadership

Pastor Michael L Brown

President/CEO

mbrown@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

Gabrielle Dawson

Administrative Assistant To The CEO

gdawson@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 201

John Simpson

COO

jsimpson@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 234

Wanda Best

VP of Administration

wbest@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 222

Rich Niesen

CFO

rniesen@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 204

Reverend Keisha Gardner

VP of Social Enterprise

kgardner@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 235

Lynn Russcher

VP of Advancement

lrusscher@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 213

Ministry Staff

Kenny Bizzell

Director of KDC Operations

kenny@deaconsconference.org

269.345.2974

Shayla Shelton

Gift Processor

‍sshelton@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 205

Matt Furrow

Volunteer Coordinator

mfurrow@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 203

Elizabeth Gibson

‍Health Clinic Administrator

egibson@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 210

Matt Koenig

Communications Coordinator

mkoenig@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 217

Troy Haas

Front Office Manager

thaas@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 221

Tammy Clubb

Director of Development

tclubb@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 211

Mike Cook

Director of Emergency Services

mcook@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 302

James Crosswhite

Director of Maintenance

jcrosswhite@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 229

Laura Shields

Director of Retail

lshields@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

Greg Weaver

Food Service Director

gweaver@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

269.345.2974 ext 247

Sheldon McCullough

‍Director of Programming

smccullough@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 243

Scott Pease

Donor Relations Specialist

spease@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

Ext 218

Kami Galvin

Manager of Children's Ministry

kgalvin@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 239

Bert Lumetta

Data Administrator

blumetta@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 223

Deb Holtz

Education, Career, and Development Manager

dholtz@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 224

Board of Directors

Kristie Abruzzo-Chairman

Don Edgerly-Vice Chairman

Brent Wedding-Treasurer

Michael Westfall-Secretary

Jason Scheffers

Brian Clark

Pastor Bryan Tema

Bishop Karl Wallace

Patrick Dolly

Ajamian Gardner

Sign Up For To Receive Our Newsletter

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

It's only possible because of you