Kalamazoo Gospel Ministries

Shelter | Development | Purpose

What began as a depression-era soup kitchen is now a multi-campus, comprehensive ministry reaching those in our community in need of hope and healing. The Gospel is at the center of our name and at the heart of what we do. We offer shelter, food and a helping hand, but we cannot change a heart. Only God can do that.

Vision Statement

Guided by the Holy Spirit, we will build the infrastructure of programs, services, funding, and capabilities which support eternal transformation in the lives of those who desire lasting life change. Over the next three years, our team will become even more efficient and have even greater impact. We will be known for quality services that builds competence, confidence, and an expanded sense of self-worth while continuing to provide basic shelter services and programming.

Mission Statement

A collaborative community Serving as the hands and feet of Jesus, Respecting the value of every human being, Empowering those who desire Gospel-Powered life transformation, Equipping people with the resources for success, and Shepherding them into a life of purpose and compassion.

Pastor Michael L. Brown

President/CEO

For more than 90 years, KGM has served the community of Kalamazoo MI, offering radical hospitality in Jesus’ name to people who are dealing with hunger, homelessness, abuse, and addiction. We have never been more resolved to see individuals and families have their lives and relationships restored. As you peruse our website, you will recognize that we have added many training programs and resources, to the support already available. We want to ensure that every guest has everything they need to achieve the wholeness they desire.

As we have combined with Kalamazoo Deacons Conference, our ability to offer a broader contingent of services to an increasing number of people has only been strengthened.

If you are interested in becoming a part of our volunteer support team, please contact Matt Furrow, our Volunteer Specialist, at 269.345.2974 ext 203. Also, take note of the many services available in case you or someone you know is in need of assistance.

While we incorporate the core tenets of Christianity in every aspect of our work, we offer support to people of every faith or no faith. Our goal is for individuals and families to have their lives and relationships restored through the transformative power of the Gospel and be reengaged in meaningful ways within society.

Lastly, if you would like to financially support the work of this vital ministry, donate gifts in kind or you have any questions about KGM, please contact at 269.345.2974.

Pastor Michael L. Brown
President/CEO

2021-2022 Annual Report

This in-depth report will provide detailed statistics and financial information about Kalamazoo Gospel Ministries in our 2021-2022 fiscal year.

National Report on Homelessness

October 2020

National report on homelessness

“ I hope people will support KGM because this place is a stepping stone for people who want a different life.”

Ceira

's

Latest Newsletter

Want to read future stories?
Sign up to receive a copy of our Newsletter

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Pastor Brown's Speaking Engagements

Howardsville Gospel Chapel

53441 Bent Rd, Marcellus, MI,

March 10, 2024

Sunday School 9:54am Church at 11 am

Lighthouse Community Church

4321 S 11th Street Kalamazoo, MI 49009

May 19, 2024

9:30am

Schnable Lake Campground

115th ave lot 76 Otsego MI 49078

July 9, 2024

Sunday 10am-11am

Are you interested in having Pastor Brown speak at your church?

Please contact Wanda Best, at 269.345.2974 ext 222 for more information

Listen to Our Radio Program

Sunday Mornings at 10:30am and & 12:00pm

106.9FM WKZO at 10:30am

95.5FM The Touch at 12:00pm

Senior Leadership

Pastor Michael L Brown

President/CEO

269.345.2974

Pastor John Simpson

COO

jsimpson@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 234

Wanda Best

VP of Administration

wbest@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 222

Rich Niesen

CFO

rniesen@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 204

Lynn Russcher

VP of Advancement

lrusscher@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974

ext 213

Ministry Staff

Mary Denison

Deveolpment Director

mdenison@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

Kenny Bizzell

Director of KDC Operations

kenny@deaconsconference.org

269.345.2974 ext

Shayla Shelton

Gift Processing Specialist

‍sshelton@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

205

Matt Furrow

Volunteer Specialist

mfurrow@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

203

Elizabeth Gibson

Health Care and Outreach Specialist

egibson@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

210

Mike Cook

Director of Emergency Services

mcook@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

302

James Crosswhite

Director of Maintenance

jcrosswhite@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

229

Laura Shields

Director of Retail

lshields@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

Danyall Darden

Food Service Director

ddarden@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

247

Kami Galvin

Director of Programs

kgalvin@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

239

McKenna Baughman

Manager of Children's Ministry

mbaughman@kzoogospel.org

269.345.2974 ext

238

Board of Directors

Michael Westfall-Chairman

Dr. Alan Carson Sr.-Vice Chairman

Chris Mars-Treasurer

Asia Bennett-Secretary

Pat Glerum

Ajamian Gardner

Barry Brigham

Andrew Schipper

Tina Campbell

Kurt Schmitt

Bishop Karl Wallace

Barb Mulder

It's only possible because of you