About

Kalamazoo Gospel Ministries

What began as a depression-era soup kitchen is now a multi-campus, comprehensive ministry reaching those in our community in need of hope and healing. The Gospel is at the center of our name and at the heart of what we do. We offer shelter, food and a helping hand, but we cannot change a heart. Only God can do that.

Vision Statement

We see a ministry where lives of the homeless and those in need are constantly being transformed by the truth of the Gospel with the collaboration of our community.

Mission Statement

Kalamazoo Gospel Ministries is a collaborative community
          Serving
as the hands and feet of Jesus
                    Respecting the value of every human being
                               Empowering
those who desire Gospel-Powered life transformation
                                        Equipping people with the resources for success
                                                    Launching them into a life of purpose and compassion

Vision Statement

We see a ministry where lives of the homeless and those in need are constantly being transformed by the truth of the Gospel with the collaboration of our community.

Mission Statement

Kalamazoo Gospel Ministries is a collaborative community
Serving
as the hands and feet of Jesus
Respecting the value of every human being
Empowering
those who desire Gospel-Powered life transformation
Equipping people with the resources for success
Launching them into a life of purpose and compassion

Pastor Michael L. Brown

President/CEO

For more than 87 years, KGM has served the community of Kalamazoo MI, offering radical hospitality in Jesus’ name to people who are dealing with hunger, homelessness, abuse, and addiction. We have never been more resolved to see individuals and families have their lives and relationships restored. As you peruse our website, you will recognize that we have added many training programs and resources, to the support already available. We want to ensure that every guest has everything they need to achieve the wholeness they desire.

As we have combined with Kalamazoo Deacons Conference, our ability to offer a broader contingent of services to an increasing number of people has only been strengthened.

If you are interested in becoming a part of our volunteer support team, please contact Matt Furrow, our Volunteer Coordinator, at 269.345.2974 ext 203. Also, take note of the many services available in case you or someone you know is in need of assistance.

While we incorporate the core tenets of Christianity in every aspect of our work, we offer support to people of every faith or no faith. Our goal is for individuals and families to have their lives and relationships restored through the transformative power of the Gospel and be reengaged in meaningful ways within society.

Lastly, if you would like to financially support the work of this vital ministry, donate gifts in kind or you have any questions about KGM, please contact at 269.345.2974.

Pastor Michael L. Brown
President/CEO

Pastor Brown's Speaking Engagements

Living Hope Community Church

August 16th

9:30

9292 East CD Avenue, Richland

Are you interested in having Pastor Brown speak at your church?

Please contact Caressa Langley, at 269.345.2974 ext. 201 for more information

Senior Leadership

Pastor Michael L Brown

President/CEO

mbrown@kzoogospel.org

Caressa Langley

Executive Assistant to CEO

clangley@kzoogospel.org

ext 201

John Simpson

COO

jsimpson@kzoogospel.org

ext 234

Wanda Best

VP of Administration

wbest@kzoogospel.org

ext 222

Rich Niesen

CFO

rniesen@kzoogospel.org

ext 204

Reverend Keisha Gardner

VP of Programming

kgardner@kzoogospel.org

ext 235

Lynn Russcher

VP of Advancement

lrusscher@kzoogospel.org

ext 213

Ministry Staff

Kenny Bizzell

Director of KDC Operations

kenny@deaconsconference.org

Shayla Shelton

Gift Processor

‍sshelton@kzoogospel.org

ext 205

Matt Furrow

Volunteer Coordinator

mfurrow@kzoogospel.org

ext 203

Elizabeth Gibson

‍Health Clinic Administrator

egibson@kzoogospel.org

ext 210

Matt Koenig

Communications Coordinator

mkoenig@kzoogospel.org

ext 217

Lauren Luna

‍Admin Head Receptionist

‍lluna@kzoogospel.org

ext 221

Tammy Clubb

Director of Development

tclubb@kzoogospel.org

ext 211

Mike Cook

Director of Emergency Services

mcook@kzoogospel.org

ext 302

James Crosswhite

Director of Maintenance

jcrosswhite@kzoogospel.org

ext 229

Laura Shields

Director of Retail

lshields@kzoogospel.org

Sheldon McCullough

‍Director of Programming

smccullough@kzoogospel.org

ext 243

Kami Galvin

Manager of Children's Ministry

kgalvin@kzoogospel.org

ext 239

Bert Lumetta

Data Administrator

blumetta@kzoogospel.org

ext 223

Deb Holtz

Education, Career, and Development Manager

dholtz@kzoogospel.org

ext 224

Board of Directors

Kristie Abruzzo-Chairman

Brent Wedding-Secretary

Jason Scheffers

Catrinka Johnson

Cathy Ash-Assistant Chairman

Dr. Alan Carson, Sr

Don Edgerly

Vernon Coakley

Chris Mars-Treasurer

Brian Clark

John Zull

Kristie Abruzzo-Chairman

Cathy Ash-Assistant Chairman

Chris Mars-Treasurer

Brent Wedding-Secretary

Catrinka Johnson

Dr. Alan Carson, Sr

Jason Scheffers

Brian Clark

Don Edgerly

John Zull

Vernon Coakley

Sign Up For To Receive Our Newsletter

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Get Involved